The IEEE PES John W. Estey Outstanding Scholar Award is given annually to the top PES Scholar recipient in each Region 1-7.

  • Up to 7 awards will be presented, one for each Region 1-7; no ties are possible.
  • $6,000 US for school expenses (tuition, books, student fees, etc.); the funds are paid directly to the recipient’s school
  • IEEE and IEEE PES Student Membership for the upcoming year
  • Up to $1,000 US in travel honorarium to attend the IEEE PES Annual General Meeting in accordance with the IEEE Reimbursement Guidelines.
  • Plaque

This program is supported by donations to the IEEE Foundation PES Scholarship Plus Fund (established in 2010). The S&C Foundation created an endowed fund to support the establishment of the IEEE PES Scholarship Plus Initiative John W. Estey Outstanding Scholar Award. John W. Estey is past CEO of the S&C Electric Company and past IEEE PES President.

The 2023 – 2024 John W. Estey Outstanding Scholars are listed below:

Region 1 – Megan Dion – Stevens Institute of Technology

Region 2 – Benjamin Carnovale – University of Pittsburgh

Region 3 – Michael Walters – Clemson University

Region 4 – Kalen Meyer – South Dakota State University

Region 5 – Griffin Buschjost – Missouri University of Science and Technology

Region 6 – Sofia Brumbaugh – Santa Clara University

Region 7 – Jessica Ayers – University of Western Ontario